A Wonderful Vacation!

18 Jul

We’ve been back a week, but I haven’t had 2 seconds to write a post about it!

I could go on and on about all the great times we had, but I will just say, it was fantastic, sunny, a little on the cool side which was fine for us (about 65 degrees), there was plenty to keep us busy, and great things to eat…I do have to say that I had a hard time finding a decent cup of coffee!

While in Downtown San Francisco, we went to Alcatraz. I wasn’t sure how I would like this, thought it would be creepy, but it was absolutely super! They give you headphones with a little unit, that “tours” you around the prison, and is narrated by men who were prisoners there. They also add a lot of sound effects, and it makes it so realistic. Below is a pic. I had to take, it was about how some of the men used to whittle away their time crocheting! Now, I am not a crocherer, but the fact that they had displayed some yarn in a prison cell…I immediately thought “blog!”, took a pic. and moved on!

Atcatraz from the mainland - San Francisco, Ca.Approching on the ferry

Crochet and Yarn in a cell...who would have thunk it!!??

From San Fran, we spent 3 days in Monterey, which is a few hours down the pacific coast….absolutely breathtaking views. Monterey is where Steinbeck was from, and I didn’t know that! I picked up, and started reading on the plane ride home, Cannery Row, which is a short, but tremendously descriptive novel about the sardine canning town in the early 1900’s. Here are some pictures – great eating and drinking, as well as the Monterey Aquarium, which is well worth a visit.  Our room at the hotel was Oceanfront, and stunning! We had a great view of all the harbour seals and otters floating by in the bay – magical!

Travelling along the Pacific Coast HighwayArrived in Monterey, and headed straight for the bar!

Pebble BeachOur hotel on the Ocean!It’s hard to be back, but you have to do the things here, in order to get there I suppose!

Plenty of knitting going on, but I have had a complete rethink of my knitting since being on vacation, and am planning a massive purge in the next little while. I have decided just to keep on hand, and use, the yarns I truly will use. Anyway hope you have enjoyed the pictures, we couldn’t take enough!

One Response to “A Wonderful Vacation!”

  1. Vivian July 22, 2009 at 11:39 AM #

    Awesome pics! So glad you had a great vacation.

Leave a Reply

